An inconvenient truth about convenience.

This morning, I finally got around to processing an application for a government ID! That isn’t as exciting as it seems. In fact it doesn’t even seem exciting. But it was one of the few ones I could get without paying for it, and it will be delivered to my address, so it’s good enough. However, since it’s the government, I had very low hopes, and boy, even they were disappointed. One good thing I can say about it, there weren’t very many people so I finished in less than two hours!

(http://alphaamind.tumblr.com/post/142645400638/a-cup-of-morning)

I actually haven’t had very nice sleeps the last few nights. I keep tossing and turning, despite the chilly and cozy temperature. I wonder why… But I got up early today and got to eat breakfast with mom. I rarely get to do that in weekdays, cos she leaves earlier for work than I get up in the morning. And, it might be weird cos this is my blog, not hers, but I’ve noticed she’s just liking work less and less. I was able to visit her at work yesterday, after my job interview and a failed attempt at processing my ID application. Her peers were nice and friendly, her bosses were… less so, I guess. They seemed to like the sound of their own voices, and yet they don’t really use them with conviction. Poor momma. Oh, btw my mom works in the government as well.

My mom is the most hard-working person I know, and she has a ton on her plate at work already, but she wants to take on (I shouldn’t mention it) another thing, but they wouldn’t let her because her bosses are afraid of losing people on their teams. Gee, maybe if they treated their subordinates well, they wouldn’t be short on people, would they?

Put into perspective, would it be fair to say that people only work for themselves, and what is… convenient?

There’s nothing wrong with convenience. It’s practically the principle cities, technology, social media, and more, are based on. However, convenience can easily turn into complacence, turn into indifference. This is where selective justice is rooted so very firmly, when it shouldn’t even exist at all. When people are too individualistic, they’re technically just apathetic, how can society function as a society?

So when a certain government employee (particularly the first one I interacted with this morning, whoever he is) points me to a sign on a wall instead of answering my question, “cleverly” quipping at persons directed to his station, and ends our transaction with a not-so-murmur, “Sorry I won’t be able to take you home,” it makes me wonder if he’s being himself, trying to make his dull 10-5 work schedule more lively, or being unprofessional, considering that I’m technically a taxpayer that pays him his livelihood. Same goes for the guy that came after me in line, replying to his statement, “I’ll be the one to take her home.” Please note that these absolute strangers were saying this in the presence of my father, whom he later asks how he’s related to me. I don’t even know if my dad is offended by their “conversation”, or if it occurs to the unfamiliar persons that should it be their daughters, sisters, or mothers whom were objectified, would they then regret their actions. More of the same goes for every single man who leered, stared, and ogle me any time I leave the safety and comfort of my home.

Timely enough, I read this article (will be linked below) about catcalling not offending to its writer. I then commented about the odd yet interesting perspective, and mentioned that I do try to be optimistic most of the time, however when the catcallers are creepy and rude, I just feel scared. This is when apathy gets out of hand, when men can do as they please, but should you decide to punch them in the face for overstepping their boundaries, they get insulted. Is it so fine a line that they don’t see it anymore?

Strangely though, part of why catcalling isn’t offensive to its writer is because she feels “boosted” by them. Would it then be appropriate to say that she’s choosing to make it convenient for herself? Which is not wrong at all! Similar to how I wish I had a car so that I wouldn’t have to ride congested buses and trains, but am grateful to ride public vehicles when traffic is particularly heavy because it means I don’t have to stay with my car or pay an exorbitant amount of money for gas or maintenance. Silver linings.

At the end of the day, which is now, we simply need to keep in mind the lines we cannot and should not cross. Everything in moderation, that’s a good motto. Except for puppies. One cannot have too many puppies. Happy Friday!


I’m a woman and I don’t find catcalling offensive

Leave a Reply

