Ataraxia.

Ahhhhh!! It’s been a very lazy day. I got up before my second alarm and was able to eat breakfast, but I just went back to bed and swiped through my phone. Tsk tsk. I also haven’t had coffee-choco and tea for a few days. Just been feeling very meh, but not necessarily in a bad way. I was quite productive last week, and the week before that, so maybe this is just my body’s way of telling me to slow down.

(http://wendyenchanted.tumblr.com/post/145198056768)

Not sure if I’ve mentioned it yet, but I actually love going out. It does seem logical because I’m 20 years old, I just graduated college, the world is out there, and it’s mine to explore. It’s much easier said than done, though. And I recently realized that my dad… disagrees with me going out too much. It’ s a common trope in the Philippines, “Strict ang parents ko, eh.” (My parents are strict.) But particularly for girls. I wonder why.

I don’t know how much you know about the Philippines, particularly the crime that goes on day to day. It’s not so bad that you really can’t go out without wearing some kind of armor or something, but it’s bad enough that you really have to be cautious every moment you are outside. Especially if you’re a girl traveling by yourself. My mom won’t even let me take a cab or an uber by myself because there are cases in which people are abducted or raped and/or murdered. Sometimes someone, most likely girls, would be walking on a daylit street, a white van would drive by, and they’d just get grabbed. Thankfully the part of the city I live in is somewhat safer, but my brother has been mugged going home just a few blocks away. My brother is less careful than I am, so I think that had something to do with it. Poor little bro, though.

What I would give to live in a place where you don’t have to be scared of going outside. I suppose that’s something a lot of us want, more so than I do. A lot of people don’t even have secure shelter to call home, so I don’t think I have much room to complain. But knowing what I know, and already being afraid, I can only imagine how bad they have it. Oh, how badly I want to do something about it.

Alas, I am confined to these four walls. There’s some flak about “online activism” but tbh, that’s as much as I can do without having to leave my house, and I can’t afford to go places anyway. So I will share articles for awareness, I will sign countless petitions, and I will be as loud as I can. I have some resentment about this, too, because the posts I do share about them don’t get as much “likes” or basically attention as much as when I post, say, a cute selfie, and I don’t understand if it’s just that certain site that doesn’t share it as much, or the people that don’t care. Anyway, much like this blog, I will post as much as I desire because I will make use of the platform I do have. Similar to how celebrities use their influence to draw attention to causes close to their hearts. So please don’t hate on them. Instead call attention to those that are comfortably and conveniently silent.

There are days when I’m tired or when I’m just sick of seeing and hearing all the bad and sad things, but if I want there to be less bad and sad things, I must do my part, however little, to help alleviate the problems. I hope you guys can find the strength on such days, too. Good luck. And Happy Monday.


  1. a state of freedom from emotional disturbance and anxiety; tranquillity.
Leave a Reply

