Benevolence vs. Kindness.

Missed two post days, and really must squeeze this one out before Wednesday ends lol. The last few days have been very eventful, and tomorrow my cousin flies to the UK to work for three years, at least. I will miss her to bits and pieces, family gatherings will not be the same without her, especially 31st December and New Years.

Last Saturday, I convinced my parents to go out and watch Lego Batman Movie which was hilarious, Sunday we had breakfast out and spent a few minutes in the park, and in the afternoon to late evening, I hung out with Sylvester (which may or may not prevent me from going out again because strict ang parents ko), Monday morning was spent sleeping (which is neither good nor bad) and the night was spent out for aforementioned cousin’s farewell dinner. When we got home, my cousin was picking out stuff from Mom’s old London clothes, and Arya scratched my palm real deep with two claws. Yas.

(http://camillanarea.tumblr.com/post/146567286267/httpssociety6comproductadopt-dont-shop-7d5pr also for sale on Society6)

I forget if I’ve mentioned it, but I actually adopted Arya from a friend of a friend, who’d bought it her on a whim. After like a week, she got tired of Arya, whom she’d actually named Marungis, which basically means “dirty”. I mean…a freaking adorable Siamese cat named dirty. So this friend of a friend was looking to get rid of Arya, and my friend asked me if I could take her in. I asked le parents (aka Mom) and she said I could as long as I would take care of her. I now have pictures of her that sort of track her growth. It’s adorable cos Siamese cats’ dark spots get darker as they get older. Arya was kind of scrappy when she was a kitten, and now she’s a fluffy, elegant, curious sweetheart. I can’t imagine what would have happened if that friend of a friend, who didn’t even know how old Arya was when she got her, would have just thrown her out the street because of her ignorance and incompetence. Sadly, a lot of people are actually like that when getting pets.

Two of our current four pets were bought but at my mother’s behest. The ones I’d chosen were actually adopted. I say this, not to show off, but to explain that just because you should adopt doesn’t mean that you can’t buy. This is a disclaimer for anyone that might be offended. But this also doesn’t erase the fact that there are plenty of homeless and loveless animals out there that deserve homes and love, despite their ailments or breeds. Here in the Philippines, we have stray dogs and cats instead of squirrels or raccoons, so it’s inevitable that there will be stray kittens and puppies too. But I don’t know what it is about cats, people tend to leave them alone more often. I’ve lost count of how many kittens I’ve tried to save, because either people take them from one place to another, maybe away from their mother, just for the sake of making them lost, a cruelty I will never understand, or the mother isn’t very motherly at all and leaves her kittens anywhere. We have one stray that we feed and basically hang around the house too, I’d named him Thor. He was one of the first cats that we started keeping and his mother gave birth like three times in our yard.

Here in the Philippines, we have stray dogs and cats instead of squirrels or raccoons, so it’s inevitable that there will be stray kittens and puppies too. But I don’t know what it is about cats, people tend to leave them alone more often. I’ve lost count of how many kittens I’ve tried to save, because either people take them from one place to another, maybe away from their mother, just for the sake of making them lost, a cruelty I will never understand, or the mother isn’t very motherly at all and leaves her kittens anywhere. We have one stray that we feed and basically hang around the house too, I’d named him Thor. He was one of the first cats that we started keeping and his mother gave birth like three times in our yard. I’d asked my dad once, cos plenty of cats have given birth in our yard, why they keep giving birth in our yard. He said it’s where they feel safe. Anyway, Thor’s mother, who we’d called Mother of Thor or Mother for short, would often take the food we’d give her and her kittens, and not really nurture her babies. Thor is basically the one to survive out of all the cats, and other strays have come and gone, he remains our constant one.

Currently, we have three strays that hang out in our garage, two having just passed away the last few months and we miss them dearly. They’re pretty gentle and sweet. They actually don’t scratch me at all, whereas Arya is a meanie. It’s not because she hates me, because cats use their claws and paws for everything, much like dogs use their snouts and tongues. And I will very willingly accept all the bites and scratches in the world because to these creatures that I love so much, it’s how they express affection. I would deny that the reason for my fascination and compassion for these animals was due to my desperate need for attention, but I might be lying. At the very majority of these feelings is this drive to spread the love that I know the world needs, wants and deserves. I don’t always know how to express these feelings, especially to fellow human beings. But I will always strive to do so for these innocent animals who hardly ever hurt anyone who doesn’t hurt them first.

Due to this affection, I disagree with spaying, neutering, and declawing. It’s the same philosophy as when you dye their fur/hair or tattoo a hairless cat, they didn’t/can’t consent to it, and unless there’s a necessity for it, one shouldn’t subject them to it. Which brings me to a very controversial topic all around the world where people are subjected to this apathy where their consent is disregarded. Not only that, but it is actually belittled and mocked. Where a person’s very existence and identity is subjected to several checks, balances, and processes that often are unnecessary, simply because should one actually consider them as living, breathing beings, one would realize that it is not their place to determine whether or not these beings deserve to go to one bathroom or the other, dress a certain way, grow up playing with a certain toy or other, or even have the right to love another person.

I don’t assume to know everything, but as a 20-year-old wallflower, I have seen, heard, felt, and known things that do or don’t make sense. What I do know is that the most innocent beings on this earth, who live by their base instincts, have more conscience to love and be loved compared to creatures who are the self-proclaimed, top of the food chain, rational beings who, when given the choice, choose the best for themselves and, often, the worst for everyone else. I like to think that people choose good, but that’s not really true. Because good is hella freaking subjective. That in itself is complicated and deserves a whole thesis of 500 pages to fully pursue. What I hope the most, is when given the choice, you will choose compassion over apathy. A little kindness goes a long way. Start with small steps. Adopt, don’t shop. Happy humpday.


Benevolence means charity. Kindness means generosity. Just a food for thought.

I update every Monday-Wednesday-Friday-(and sometimes)Sunday night! I’m always present on social media, @thcynicalnerd on Instagram and Tumblr, @nerdTHEcynical on Twitter and Snapchat 🙂

Leave a Reply

