Just doing our jobs.

This week was half productive, half unproductive. There is no in-between. And I really must go back to regular posting, it’s no good to be lacking. Although I did mean to write for Wednesday, and wanted to post it yesterday, however, hump day knocked me out bad. Today, I had no excuse, and also I missed the blog. (Spends too much time trying to make a pic for the post, but comes up with shit, and ends up looking up cool ones again instead.)

(from http://caffeinatedcollegefreshie.tumblr.com/post/125353486373 // credits to the creator)

I did a fair bit of adulating this week, and I’ve been filled to the brim of it that I kinda just wanna throw it back up. It was a great reminder of why I started the blog in the first place, and, not necessarily of where I need to be, but where I would prefer to be. Having spent too much of a day in an air-conditioned, uniform, stale, awkward, and, frankly, fake room, it drains the life out of you. How people can stand it, I haven’t the slightest clue. It can’t be any more than them tolerating, and then just getting used to it, right? Because I don’t know anyone who would want to spend every day of the great majority of their lives in that room. If they do, they have my congratulations. Not really respect or admiration, because great it may be that they can do it, I don’t consider it particularly constructive or livable.

I spend less than 8 hours in there, and I could barely make it out alive. It just made me think of all the other things I could be doing, and could have done if I hadn’t been there. I told you about my online courses, I could have finished a module or two with that time, I could have written a short story, improved my drawing skills, cleaned my room, spammed my Facebook timeline of issues that really do need your attention, accomplished a damn blog post, and absolutely everything else but torture myself in that stupid room. And the idea that I would have to do that every day, for at least a year, is (having looked up a suitable word for it and not having found it, I’ll just insert ones that are close enough) abhorrent, unacceptable, repugnant, sickening, and loathsome. Me and my privileged ass can say that for myself. And my heart goes out to everyone else that don’t have the same benefit.

That’s all I feel comfortable talking about it, and now I wanna divert your attention to Kendall Jenner and the Pepsi ad, henceforth referred to as #Pepsigate.

Honestly, I don’t know how it’s possible for at least ten people, I assume that’s what consists of an average marketing team, to have come up with such a moronic, ignorant, hypocritical, and absolutely capitalistic idea such as #Pepsigate. I honestly don’t have anything against Kendall Jenner (except that maybe, as a person of such prominence and privilege, you’d think she’d use it for something worthwhile like bring attention to issues that desperately need the attention, and not just use her connections to look pretty and be famous—or look famous and be pretty, it works either way), but if all it took was a nice girl with a can of Pepsi to solve all of the problems in the world, then why is it still shitty?

I mean, I get it, you know? Capitalism is bound to fuck up matters of life and death to bits and pieces. It’s literally the rubble it’s built upon. So Kendall Jenner, and her rich, whiteness, can make use of matters close to our hearts, which we spend every day of our lives worrying about and fighting every minute for, and turn it into a marketing stunt. Now I ask, is all publicity good?

By the way, I’d also like to address that hating on #Pepsigate is not an “SJW” thing. And I also understand where “SJW” hate is rooted, being much too close to extremism for my comfort, but then again, people need to be extreme to get your attention to where it really matters. I’m honestly sick of all the “SJW” and “feminazi” hate. There’s literally a reason for why they exist, and maybe if you’d give a shit about it for five minutes, you’d realize where they’re coming from too. Basically, I’m asking for a brief moment of open-mindedness from you, and it really shouldn’t be too much to ask.

(Here is where I attempt to combine and summarize everything I’ve just talked about, like an actual writer, and try not to fuck it up.)

At the end of the day, it’s just about people doing their jobs, isn’t it? The people in that fake room are just being professional and following through on their system, Kendall Jenner’s just trying to live her life and be a model and be sponsored and go on holidays and be pretty and get paid, and Pepsi is just trying to sell cans of carbonated sugar. Maybe if we spend less time trying to do something, just because we need to, and instead doing the things we prefer to, the world wouldn’t be such a sucky place.

I could go on a litany about time and money again, but that’s such a depressing, vicious cycle. Let’s just do it. There’s a reason Nike still has that tagline. It does the job. Also, it’s true. Happy Friday.


I update every Monday-Wednesday-Friday-(and sometimes)Sunday night! I’m always present on social media, @thcynicalnerd on Instagram and Tumblr, @nerdTHEcynical on Twitter and Snapchat 🙂

Leave a Reply

