An MVP.

No, it doesn’t mean Most Valuable Player. It stands for Mitral Valve Prolapse, a heart condition where a heart valve doesn’t close properly, but remains ajar, when the heart beats. It’s a pretty common condition, since it can be hereditary. In my case, it was contracted from a childhood of throat infections that weren’t treated well. Apparently, however, anything that suggests you’re not a perfectly fit human being also means you aren’t fit for employment, no matter how good you may be at the work.

(from http://uptional.net/post/156418507840 // credits to the creator)

Been busy these past few weeks, applying for jobs, going to job interviews, then being told I didn’t pass the test or get enough scores. I wonder if they realize that I’ve failed tests before and have attempted to fail evaluations before, but have passed anyway. One thing has changed since then, and it’s the fact that I got sick and had to resign from my previous job. Of course, hiring managers usually ask why you left your last company, and as a person that is honest and straightforward, I tell them why. That I was diagnosed with mild tuberculosis and a mitral valve prolapse—leaving out my mental health problems, because the former already blows their minds—and then I am asked to elaborate. They ask how I am now, and I let them know that I was advised to rest for six months, but was able to recover enough, and have been applying for jobs for the last three months, at least.

My trippy heart is something I have to live with, to quote my doctor. And that’s fine. The worst I get is occasional chest pains, shortness of breath, and palpitations. I am perfectly functional, physically, and am so much tougher than I look. And I look pretty mean. Still, employment eludes me. Personally, I don’t want to work for a company that isn’t willing to support their employees, and there’s still options for me. I do want to talk about people who don’t have options, and that are actually worse off than I am.

For example, my dad has hypokalemia, potassium deficiency, which leaves him unable to exert too much physical effort, because if he does, he’ll get muscle pain and minor paralysis. But I don’t know anyone more hard working than my dad. And he is so good at what he does. He used to work as tech support for a BPO company, though, so of course when it was time to let go of people, he was one of them because of his spotty attendance. Nevermind that he was better than most of superiors there, I guess.

But my dad and I are still pretty capable, even considering the illnesses that deem us undesirable for capitalistic endeavors. There are disabled and handicapped people that are much less privileged, with even less options than we do. Seeing as we live in a third world country, we aren’t yet in that nice stage where we get enough support from the government. Hell, even pensions for senior citizens is something to debate about.

It’s immeasurably easier to say, “Just get a job!” and require someone to simply be able to read and write for a position, like the freaking presidency. However, as I have observed from my recent applications, it’s not simply. Hardly anything is simple, plain, or easy. I find myself saying that phrase a lot nowadays.

Easy as it is to be sad and disappointed at these things, the more worthwhile thing to do is direct your attention to the good things that are happening. Like The Happy Project PH, a company that hires persons with disability to make their products that spread kindness and joy. Had I more means to purchase their stuff, like a job that pays, I would have hoarded all of it already. It’s an awesome cause and I want to support it as much as I can.

Another great example is the Puzzle Café, owned by Jose Canoy, a man with autism. They have also employed people with disabilities, proving that even though they are handicapped, they are very much capable.

Aren’t these people all the stronger, not just for living with their conditions, but by meeting their challenges with a smile? Granted, the last thing that they want is commendation for living the way they always have, but it impresses me all the more considering that some (arguably, most) normal, functioning people find it difficult to not take advantage of other people on a daily (probably hourly) basis. I know they don’t want to be treated any differently, because they’re people too. But they inspire me, anyway, with their steadfast kindness.

There are still leaps and bounds we have to make before the world is a more open and welcoming place. Here’s hoping we can make those leaps and bounds sooner rather than later.

Happy Humpday



The Happy Project: Spreading Happiness, One Pouch At A Time
The family who built a cafe just for their son

I update every Monday-Wednesday-Friday-(and sometimes)Sunday night! I’m always present on social media, @thcynicalnerd on Instagram and Tumblr, @nerdTHEcynical on Twitter and Snapchat 🙂

Leave a Reply

